Thursday, May 11, 2017

CIC slaps penalty against six ECR officers

Web India: New Delhi: Thursday, May 11, 2017.
The Central Information Commission (CIC) slapped a penalty of Rs 25,000 each against East Central Railway (ECR)'s six officers for not providing information sought under Right to Information Act (RTI). Sources at ECR said that Central Information Commissioner R K Mathur took six ECR officers to task for not sharing information on 11 points raised by RTI activist Shailendra Singh even after lapse of three years and also slapped fine of Rs 25,000 each against them. Anguished over the attitude of the officers, the RTI activist had lodged a complaint with Mr Mathur, who ordered that the penalty amount be deducted from salaries of ECR officers over a period of time.
The officers who faced the wrath of CIC for not sharing information with the RTI activist are Deputy Commercial Manager (DCM) of Samastipur division Virendra Kumar, Deputy Station Superintendent (DSS) of Mughalsarai Arun Yadav, Divisional Personnel Officer of Dhanbad division Ujjawal Anand, Railway Training Centre, Muzaffarpur Principal Mohammed Jafar, Samastipur division DPO D N Singh and Deputy Chief Commercial Officer (DCCO), Hajipur zone B N P Verma.